The Library will be closed until further notice. In-person programs are cancelled throughout May. Virtual programs are now being held.

New Must Read Middle Grade Books!

| | ,

Here are some great new books that have been published this spring for middle-grade readers, and are available digitally through Winchester Public Library, or Boston Public Library. Every Massachusetts resident can sign up for an e-card with Boston Public Library.

 

City Spies by James Ponti

Five kids from around the world are brought together in this new series, and are made into spies. Each book in the series will be told from the point of view of one of the characters – the first book is in hacker Sarah Martinez’s voice. The book is fast paced, and has lots of twists and turns. Fans of Spy School will love it!

e-book and digital audiobook available through Overdrive

 

The List of Things That Will Not Change by Rebecca Stead

Bea knows that things change – her parents are divorced and her father is going to marry his boyfriend, Jesse. She also knows that she can always look at her list of things that will not change, including that her parents love her. As the wedding day gets closer, Bea learns about all the feelings and events that come along with the creation of a new family. 

e-book and digital audiobook available through Overdrive

 

So This is Love by Elizabeth Lim

Book #9 in Disney Publishing’s series, Twisted Tales, imagines what would happen if Cinderella never tried on the glass slipper. This is officially a YA series, but is a great series for middle school students who are looking for something slightly more challenging. 

e-book available through hoopla and Overdrive

 

Efren Divided by Ernesto Cisneros

Efren was born in America, but his parents are undocumented. One day, his mom does not come home from work, and the family finds out that she has been deported. Efren must work hard to care for his dad and younger siblings, and try to reunite his family. For fans of Merci Suarez Changes Gears and Front Desk.

e-book available through Overdrive

 

Tyrannosaurus Wrecks by Stuart Gibbs

Teddy was all set for a campout at his friend Sage’s family ranch — but then Sage gets terrible news: the skull of a rare dinosaur that was being excavated on his property has mysteriously vanished overnight, even though it weighed 500 pounds. Not a single footprint has been left behind. Since the dinosaur was top secret, the police don’t believe anyone outside the dig could have stolen it. Can Teddy figure out who the thief is? Gibbs includes great information about animals in this exciting mystery!

e-book available through Overdrive

 

Bloom by Kenneth Oppel

Book #1 of a new apocalyptic trilogy, The Overthrow, about new, toxic plants that take over the world. Three kids on a remote island seem to be immune to the new plants – can they save the planet? This book ends with a cliffhanger, but don’t worry. Book #2 will be out this fall.

e-book available at Boston Public Library

 

Sal and Gabi fix the universe by Carlos Hernandez

Digital audiobook

In this sequel to Sal and Gabi break the universe, Sal’s dad tries to close all the wormholes that they created, and a Gabi from another universe seeks revenge for her destroyed world. Can Sal and Gabi fix everything without making it worse?

Digital audiobook available at Boston Public Library

 

Stepping Stones by Lucy Knisley

Moving from the city to her mom’s boyfriend’s farm is not something Jen had on her to-do list. Not only does she miss her old life with her dad and friends, she has to learn how to live on a farm, and deal with her insecurities about her place in the family. A graphic novel that fans of Awkward and Be Prepared will love! 

e-book available at Boston Public Library 

 

Born Curious: 20 girls who grew up to be awesome scientists by Martha Freeman

This collected biography title includes biographies of incredible scientists including Joan Beauchap Procter, Shirley Anne Jackson, Tu Youyou, and Maryam Mirzakhani 

e-book available at Boston Public Library

 

An invisible thread: a young readers edition by Laura Schroff and Alex Tresniowski

Laura, a busy executive, sees an 11-year-old panhandler on the street and walks past him. She re-thinks her decision, turns around, and takes him out for lunch, changing their lives forever. This book is an adaptation of the adult memoir, written for younger readers.

Available as a digital audiobook at Boston Public Library

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *