DATABASES
Calendar of Events At the Library & From Home Featured Database Funding for the DatabasesDatabases Funded by the LibraryCiting Sources in a BibliographyHelpful GuidesWhat is a Database? Databases vs. WebsitesTroubleshooting Access
MAIN MENU
HOME | CATALOG | MY ACCOUNT | SEARCH | HOURS & DIRECTIONS | CONTACT
CLICK FOR THE LIST OF DATABASES AVAILABLE AT THE LIBRARY AND FROM HOME
NEW! Consumer Reports Online is now available
Known as one of the most trusted resources for information and advice on consumer products, this award-winning website contains information that enables consumers to make better purchasing decisions on the products they are shopping for. In addition, users will find advice and tips on saving money on home improvement plans, how to shore up personal finances, ways to improve health and much more.
Consumer Reports Online provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice across several franchises. Each product includes an overview and a ratings report card, as well as tester reviews & recommendations. Click and scroll down until you see the link
Funding for the Databases
Funding is provided by a variety of agencies: the Minuteman Library Network, the Metrowest Massachusetts Regional Library System, and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
And the Winchester Public Library purchases these databases:
- A-Z Maps Online
- A-Z the USA
- Amazing Animals of the World
- Ancestry Library Edition (in-Library use only for everyone, sponsored by the Friends of the Winchester Public Library)
- Banker & Tradesman [in library use only for everyone]
- Bloom's Literary Reference Online
- Boston Globe (Newsbank Electronic Image Editions )
- Central Register Goods & Services Bulletin [in Library use only for everyone]
- Consumer Reports Online
- Credo Reference
- Daily Life America
- Daily Life Through History
- Early Peoples
- Facts on File History Online (covers Ancient & Medieval, American and World History)
- Grove Art Online
- Grove Music Online
- HelpNow! (free homework help for grades 3-12)
- HeritageQuest Online (for genealogy)
- Historical New York Times
- Lands and Peoples
- Learning Express Library (practice tests and tutorials)
- Mango Languages
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
- newenglandancestors.org (in Library use only for everyone)
- NoveList K-8 Plus
- Oxford African American Studies Center
- ReferenceUSA (for business)
- Science Online
- Winchester Star
You must be a Winchester resident to access the databases purchased by the Winchester Public Library from home. In Library use is available to everyone regardless of residence.
Citing sources in a paper / Preparing a bibliography
How to Cite Sources was compiled by a former Library Media Specialist at the McCall Middle School.
citationmachine and bibme are automatic bibliography makers, as is easybib (listed on the Winchester High School Library's ikeepbookmarks.com page)
The Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison provides examples of how to cite works in a reference paper using MLA format.
OWL at Purdue Materials for Grades 7-12 offers a variety of aids related to writing including citation information.
Troubleshooting access
If you have trouble accessing a database at home, and you use a firewall, try disabling the firewall for the time you are using the database. Remember to enable the firewall when you're through using the database!
What Is a Library Database?
Library databases contain information from published works in which the facts have been checked -- for example, from magazine and newspaper articles,encyclopedias and other reference books. Library databases often contain full-text articles that you can print or email. Library databases are searchable by Keywords, Subject, Author, Magazine Title, Date, etc. Library databases provide citation information: Author, Title, Publisher, Date of Publication. Like websites, library databases are available 24/7. However, database articles are taken from published sources; their content is identical to the original printed magazine, newspaper or encyclopedia article. Therefore they may be used as books or magazines would be used and are not considered general "internet sources" for school reports.
Library databases are paid for by taxpayer dollars.
Databases vs. Websites
Databases: Get their information from professionals or experts in the field. Websites: Can be written by anyone regardless of expertise.
Databases: Contain published works where facts are checked.
Websites: Have content that is not necessarily checked by an expert.
Databases: Are easy to cite in a bibliography and may create the citation for you. Websites: Often do not provide the information necessary to create a complete citation.
Databases: Can help you narrow your topic or suggest related subjects. Websites: Often are not organized to support student research needs.
Databases: Are updated frequently and include the date of publication. Websites: May not indicate when a page is updated.
The information above that describes databases is adapted from the Hennepin County Library website's Reference and Research page.
Helpful Guides
You can pick up these guides at the Reference Desk or print them out here:
Resources for Genealogy and Family History
Webmaster - Marie Ariel || Text - Janet Nelson & Marie Ariel
Technical Advice & Original Art - David Strugnell
Sponsored by The Friends of the Winchester Public Library
www.winpublib.org
Last Revised:
August 22, 2010
80 Washington Street, Winchester, MA 01890 | (781)
721-7171 | Ann Wirtanen,
Director
